CARIBBEAN VACATION RENTAL REVIEWS

One word...LEGIT!

★★★★★

We have been to STX a few times and this trip was by far our best one simply due to this property. The food, people and overall life is always solid, but these accommodations put it over the top. Fantastic for a couple or 2 couples. Extremely accommodating, great location and truly a home away from home. We’ve traveled a good bit and this was tough to beat. Well done and we’ll be back.

Cheers,

The Sugishita’s

Tommy S.

Submitted: Aug 22, 2017       Stayed: Aug 2017     Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Completely in love with this rental!

★★★★★

I simply do not see how you can go wrong with this rental. It was just my wife and I but I can easily see how the home would comfortably accommodate two couples or a couple with older kids. The home is incredibly well designed, resulting in great flow and beautiful views of the ocean from every room. The house itself is integrated into a cliff with a rocky shore about 15-20 feet below. It’s located in what we consider to be the most beautiful part of the island, next to Cane Bay, Hams Bluff and the rainforest. The winds come right off the water and into the house so there is a constant breeze and probably why we did not encounter any pesky mosquitoes. The sights and sounds of the crashing waves from the porches on each of the three floors are truly stunning. We spotted an eel in one of the small tide pools right from the porch. Our favorite part of staying here was the sound of the crashing waves while sleeping at night – so sublime. We cooked breakfast at the house each day and ate out each night except for one when we stayed in to grill some fresh Mahi we caught on a fishing trip. The grill is in good shape with plenty of propane. The kitchen is well provisioned with everything we needed and all of the appliances are commercial grade and high quality. Although there are nice televisions on each floor, we did not once turn any of them on during our entire stay. We did not get a working signal through our AT&T cell phone service from the house but the Wi-Fi worked very well so we could text and facetime back home. We swam in the perfectly situated swimming pool each evening and stared at the ocean in awe with drinks in hand. We were greeted at the airport by a friendly member of the property management staff that guided us to the house with no issue. There was even a mid-week cleaning service that we were not expecting and would even have been fine without but it was a really nice perk. It was evident that the owners go the extra mile to ensure their guests have a great stay. We loved every minute of staying at this property and would not hesitate for a second in booking a return stay. The one and only bad part of our week long stay was that we had to go home! It was so depressing to leave!
Rick S.

Submitted: Aug 22, 2017       Stayed: Aug 2017     Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Wonderful property with unbeatable views

★★★★★

What a great place to enjoy Saint Croix. Located on the north shore, next to Cane Bay for diving/snorkeling. Two bedrooms; one on top floor and one on bottom floor each with its own porch. Large and comfortable with unbroken views of the ocean from all rooms. The living area on the main floor has a kitchen, dining area, porch and sitting area.

Small pool that you only share with your travel mates. Easy, quick drive to Rowdy Joes, Eat at Cane Bay, Waves, etc so you do not have to go far to get a good meal or drink. Perfect for two couples; each gets a private bedroom/floor with a shared main floor kitchen/dining area/pool.

George

Stayed: July 2017  Submitted: August 10, 2017   Source: TripAdvisor

We had a blast in St. Croix!

★★★★★

We had a blast in St. Croix and The Breakers at Cane Bay was the best place to stay! It is centrally located between Christiansted and Frederiksted and there are a lot of great restaurants very close! The villa was really nice with a pool and spectacular view of the ocean!

We booked directly with the owner instead of going through VRBO and that saved us some money! The owners are excellent and really easy to work with! I would highly recommend The Breakers at Cane Bay! You will not be disappointed!!

Stayed: July 2017  Submitted: July 8, 2017   Source: Facebook

Perfect Escape!

★★★★★

My husband and I stayed at The Breakers for our 10th Anniversary. I have hesitated in writing my review bc I don’t know how to put into words the perfection of this property. I did not believe a trip could top our honeymoon but this trip did!

I will start with the only thing we did not like and that was leaving the driveway (and leaving at the end of our stay!). The home is located between a small hill on one side and a curve on the other. The road is not very busy, but the limited visibility made us a little nervous to pull onto the road. I basically stood outside of the Jeep and listened for cars and waved my husband out when I was pretty sure no cars were coming. Now to all the good stuff…

This property is gorgeous and breathtaking just like the island it is built on. The drive from the airport along the north shore is the perfect start to your stay in paradise! Once we arrived at the villa, I felt like I was living in an HGTV show property for the week. The sound of the waves just outside the windows was so soothing. Also, the birds sang all day and there were little butterflies everywhere. In the afternoon the sun reflected off the ocean in a way that looked like a pathway to heaven. It was glorious! Then, there were the gorgeous sunsets from the balcony in the evening. We have stayed in many luxurious all inclusive properties and this was actually our first time renting a villa and car and being on our own outside of the states. It was a fun adventure!

This property gives you privacy and solitude. While it is a perfectly designed property for two couples to enjoy, don’t feel guilty for renting it alone! How often can you escape the world with your significant other? This property would be lovely to escape to for a creative work project as well (artists, etc.). The beauty of it will bring out the best in you.

While this property gives your privacy, it is very close to Cane Bay and great restaurants. The island also has a very reasonable food delivery service so you can enjoy an awesome meal in the comfort of the villa. We opened all the sliders and windows and enjoyed the breeze, the waves and sunset one evening with a delicious meal from one of the restaurants.

The home was very comfortable and you can tell a lot of thought went into maximizing every square inch of the property. The beds are super comfy (I am picky) and the kitchen is well stocked. The pool is the perfect size for 2-4 people to enjoy and was warm. There are 4 lounge chairs outside and a couple rafts to float on in the pool. The pool gets morning shade and afternoon sun. There was even a grill to cook on outside. (Note: there are wasps and bees around the property/island so take an Epi-Pen if you are allergic. We did not get stung but they were present.)

Overall, my favorite memory was floating in the pool one afternoon while singing a song. The birds flew from the utility poles and from across the street, landed on the outdoor bathroom’s roof and started singing back to me. It is a memory I will cherish among many others made that week. You will not regret renting this home and visiting this island. I cannot wait to return! Do it!

Ashley. W. Delaware

Stayed: May 2017  Submitted: June 29, 2017   Source: TripAdvisor

Let the waves melt the stress away

★★★★★

The Breakers at Cane Bay lived up to all the reviews, Worth every penny!Keep the doors open and let the crashing waves of the Caribbean sea relax and help you enjoy a vacation.

The team at “Vacation St Croix were fabulous Villa stocked with food , beer, pop. all are needs taken care of. I brought my parents along for the vacation and they loved the relaxed vibe of the Villa.

I give this Villa, ownership, management, cleaning crew and Pool cleaner 5 Stars. Thanks Lyell for the great stay.

Regards

Scott B

Stayed: June 2017  Submitted: June 13, 2017   Source: VRBO

Absolutely Perfect

★★★★★

Hard to believe until you experience it for yourself but, I can firmly say this villa was absolutely perfect. I can’t wait to go back!

Nikky Angel Wyborny

Stayed: May 2017  Submitted: May 27, 2017   Source: Facebook

Beautiful Property

★★★★★

The Breakers is a beautiful villa. This is the second year we have rented this villa and we absolutely loved it. The new management company met us at the airport and was very helpful. The property is our home away from home and we cannot wait to go back next year!!

Stayed: April 2017  Submitted: May 13, 2017   Source: VRBO

Unreal!

★★★★★

This property has everything you need to relax and enjoy yourself like you live on the island! The view is beautiful, the location is close to everything you want and need. Couldn’t have asked for a better vacation!!!

Stayed: April 2017  Submitted: April 29, 2017   Source: VRBO

Dream Vacation

★★★★★

This is an incredible property at Cane Bay in St. Croix. The location is great for scuba diving and snorkeling. It is also located close to restaurants and fun entertainment at local bars. The house had everything you need: full kitchen, outdoor grill, pool, king size beds, 3 TV’s, and free Wi-Fi. My sisters and I truly had a dream vacation. I would highly recommend this property. I will be going back with my husband to have him experience a dream vacation as well.

Stayed: April 2017  Submitted: April 11, 2017   Source: VRBO

A LONG LASTING MEMORY...

★★★★★

My first visit to St. Croix was in 1984 and we have been coming back ever since. With family and friends on island this is our first time renting a home. What an experience this was!! We brought friends that were first time St. Croix visitors and this home has left all of us in awe. I have used VRBO many times with visits to other islands and Europe. I truly feel this was a great find. From the moment I found it I could not find another property in St. Croix that would compare.

The view was one of the best, loved the furnishings and high end touches to the home. We did rent a vehicle but walked to the several bars and restaurants on a regular basis. This home is VERY comfortable with just about everything one could need.

The ONLY two things that could be improved on is: our rented vehicle was a Jeep Grand Cherokee which took two people to park in the gated area. If this could be somehow expanded it would be great. The other item is a full length mirror in the lower level bedroom. The management company did an excellent job, but I DO want to thank the owners for building such a beautiful home and sharing it with others. We do plan on visiting this property again!!

Stayed: March 2017  Submitted: April 6, 2017   Source: VRBO

Great condition (near new)

★★★★★

Great condition (near new), well-designed floor plan with communal and private spaces, perfect for two couples plus room for 2 more people if needed. Amazing views from all three levels and pool/patio area. Feels safe and secure with locked privacy gate.

Well outfitted kitchen with upgraded appliances. High quality beds and linens. Watch the tide pools fill from all three patios while listening to the waves breaking on the shore just below you! Feels remote but only a minute from great snorkeling and excellent dining, 20 minute drive to Christiansted or the airport. Already looking forward to our next visit!

Mary Gustafson

Stayed: February 2017  Submitted: February 27, 2017   Source: Facebook

Amazing place to stay

★★★★★

The Breakers at Cane Bay is an amazing place to stay! Fantastic views from any window in the house. So nice to be met at the airport and shown to our place. St. Croix has so much to offer visitors and the Breakers is close to all the action. It is centrally located just east of Cane Bay.

There is snorkeling, diving, swimming, hiking, and golf nearby. The bioluminescent bay is only two or 3 miles away. The owners have really thought of everything. Wonderful gourmet kitchen, lanais off of each bedroom and the living room, everything you need to go to the beach (cooler, towels and chairs), great internet, washer/dryer (hooray!!) and comfy beds.

We had a wonderful day every day out exploring and then we would come home in the late afternoon to our beautiful home. St. Croix was so much fun to explore and The Breakers was a fantastic home base.

Cathy Granston Isaak 

Stayed: February 2017  Submitted: February 24, 2017   Source: Facebook

Amazing place!!!!

★★★★★

This home has beautiful views of the ocean and views of several islands off to the north. It has A great kitchen, washer dryer, and a nice pool to relax in at the end of the day. Everything works very well. The air-conditioner works great. The home is new and very clean and the location ,about a half mile east of cane bay, is great. Several excellent restaurants are easy to walk to or a short drive.

The kitchen has wonderful appliances and all tools, pans, and everything you need. Nice lawn chairs are supplied and beach towels, and we would load these up and take them off to other beaches. The owners have really thought of everything to make this a very enjoyable stay. It was fantastic to have a washer and dryer. They were beautiful new models. We were supplied with plenty of clothing detergent. We had a nice cooler to take with us on our beach adventures. There were several games for us to play. Great TVs in each bedroom and in the main gathering room. Actually the nicest, largest TVs that I’ve ever seen In a VRBO situation.

There was a gal who met us at the airport and we followed her to our home. She showed us all around the house and showed us how everything worked. Very helpful. The place was very, very clean and I think a great value. Perfect for two couples. Each bedroom and the main floor had its own lovely veranda with amazing views of the ocean ! The internet was excellent. The owners seem to have thought of everything to make a wonderful vacation spot!!!

Stayed: February 2017  Submitted: February 18, 2017   Source: VRBO

Beautiful place in a beautiful spot!

★★★★

The house was in a great location with unbelievable views. It was well equipped and we had a great time. The weather was wild and windy when we arrived but calmed down after a few days. Our only concern was that there was construction next door that woke us up a few times but after I mentioned it to the owners it stopped for the most part. All in all a memorable vacation.

Stayed: January 2017  Submitted: February 1, 2017   Source: VRBO

Paradise in paradise

★★★★★

My husband were looking for a quiet place to relax and unwind over the Thanksgiving holiday. We could not have picked a more perfect destination. The villa was exactly as pictured on the website. It was immaculately maintained, it was clean and it was luxurious. We really had to force ourselves to go out and explore the island because we were so content lazing by the pool at this amazing property. The kitchen had everything you could possibly need to prepare meals, the bedrooms were huge and had beautiful en suite bathrooms. You could definitely share this place with another couple and still maintain your privacy – it is actually perfect for that. At night, we slept with the patio doors open and listened to the crash of the waves on the rocks as we slept. And in the morning, when you wake up – what a view!

There are restaurants nearby and it is a short drive (20 min or so) to Christiansted and about the same to Frederiksted if you want to venture a little further. There is also a food delivery service that will deliver food from a bunch of restaurants.

The staff at the Breakers are exceptional. We were met at the airport and assisted with getting our rental and then followed our greeter to the villa. She showed us all of the amenities and answered all of our questions. We had an issue getting our bag from the airport and she helped with that as well.

The week went by too quickly and we were sad to leave. When we return to St Croix, this is the only place we will stay.

Stayed: November 2016  Submitted: December 1, 2016   Source: VRBO

Absolutely Amazing!!!

★★★★★

If anyone is looking for an amazing getaway…I consider The Breakers at Cane Bay the best! There are so many things to do on the island of St. Croix. Our family has done so much while visiting but it us such an incredible feeling to come back to the house and have it completely feel like home! It is far different than a resort. Private gate and pool with a private home keep you in your own world while being in paradise. Waking up to amazing views from your bed overlooking the Caribbean Sea makes every day a great day! There is a view from every room in the house…even the shower! There are incredible balconies on all three levels with the waves crashing on the rocks below. It makes for complete relaxation. It is a true paradise!

Stayed: October 2016  Submitted: November 24, 2016   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

FANTASTIC VILLA, FANTASTIC LOCATION

★★★★★

THE VILLA:

This place was spectacular! The owners Lyell and Susan were so nice and helpful. They answered all of our questions prior to arriving, including a few random questions about St Croix activities during our stay, they responded quickly and were easily accessible.

When we arrived at the villa, it looked just like the pictures on the website. The landscaping was well manicured, the pool overlooked the Caribbean, and the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks put me to sleep at night and a couple of times during the day!

The villa was clean and comfortable. There were fresh towels and linens, just like you would find at any hotel or home. There were toiletries, shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, and even a hairdryer!

There was a welcome pack when we got there with a how-to guide for our stay and a Guestbook which was cool because we could see what other people were saying about their stays.

 

THE ISLAND:

Lyell and Susan recommended some great places for us to see and some to taste: Point Udall, Eat @ Cane Bay, Cane Bay Beach, Cane Bay Dive Shop, and the Cruzan Rum Factory.

Point Udall is the easternmost point in the US, and the sunset there is spectacular. Eat @ Cane Bay was our favorite restaurant and conveniently located across the street from Cane Bay our favorite beach. Both are a 2 minute drive from the villa or a 5 minute walk. We toured the Cruzan Rum Factory and it was interesting to see the rum making process but even more fun to drink the rum at the end of the tour! If you make it there ask for Wilson as your tour guide, he’ll take care of you!

Scuba diving was definitely the highlight of the trip and my favorite thing that we did. You can rent specialty cameras at the dive shops to take pics underwater for breathtaking photos that will ensure you never forget the amazing experience!

Overall the island is more rural compared to some of the others nearby but thanks to that the vibe is very laid back, and everything is on island time. St Croix was a relaxing yet exciting vacation, I will be back next year!

Jerry

Stayed: October 2016  Submitted: October 26, 2016   Source: VRBO

Our favourite vacation!

★★★★★

I don’t normally write reviews but couldn’t hold back on this one. What a marvellous week my husband and I have had in the beautiful villa. So clean and has all you could ask for in this lovely home right on the shore of the Caribbean Sea. Comfortable beds, lovely clean pool, ( which we used a lot after long days sightseeing). Scuba diving, Cruzan Rum tours and lots of great restaurants. We could not have picked a better villa for our vacation, and we most certainly will be back! (We will be inviting friends to join us next time for sure:). We are sorry to be leaving this island tomorrow. Thank you to the owners and the wonderful staff at Vacation St. Croix!

A. Brown, Europe

Stayed: September 2016  Submitted: September 19, 2016   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

Amazing Getaway

★★★★★

If anyone is looking for an amazing getaway…I consider The Breakers at Cane Bay the best! There are so many things to do on the island of St. Croix. Our family has done so much while visiting but it us such an incredible feeling to come back to the house and have it completely feel like home!

It is far different than a resort. Private gate and pool with a private home keep you in your own world while being in paradise. Waking up to amazing views from your bed overlooking the Caribbean Sea makes every day a great day! There is a view from every room in the house…even the shower! There are incredible balconies on all three levels with the waves crashing on the rocks below. It makes for complete relaxation. It is a true paradise!

Brooke Borneman Kampman

Stayed: October 2016  Submitted: October 27, 2016   Source: Facebook

BEST ACCOMMODATION ON THE ISLAND!!!!

★★★★★

ARRIVAL:
The property manager met us at the airport. We rented a car and followed her back to the villa. First impressions are so important, and having someone meet us at the airport and take us back to the villa and give us a tour set the tone for the rest of the vacation.

FIRST IMPRESSION:
The villa is exactly as advertised on the website: thebreakersatcanebay.com

THE VILLA – OUTDOORS:
The villa has an electronic gate so that the location is secure. There is one parking spot inside the gate. There is an outdoor 1/2 powder bath alongside the pool overlooking the Caribbean Sea. There are 4 lounge chairs directly overlooking the Caribbean Sea. There is also an outdoor BBQ. The landscaping is also nicely done.

THE VILLA – INDOORS:
Living Room:
Walking inside the villa, you enter the living room, overlooking the Caribbean Sea. The villa is perched on a dramatic cliff, so the views are spectacular. The living room opens onto a balcony with dining al fresco for 6. In the living room there is comfy oversized leather furniture. The couch also opens into a queen bed. So there is enough to sleep 6 total. There is a 50″ plasma TV with cable and has the recording feature enabled along with pause/play live TV.

Dining Area:
There is a round dining table behind the couch with seating for 5. The decor is very beachy and is perfect for the location of the villa.

Kitchen:
The kitchen is heaven to anyone that enjoys cooking! All the appliances were Viking and Wolf. The kitchen has everything you would expect for a luxury villa. There is no garbage disposal, but that was the only flaw I could see in the kitchen. And did I mention, it has fabulous views of the Caribbean Sea!

Guest Suites:
There is a queen bed pullout on the middle level of the villa, and an outdoor 1/2 bath just feet away. There is a master guest suite on the upper level and an identical master suite on the lower level.There is also a washer/dryer on the lower level. The suites are massive!!! They both have king beds, facing, and directly overlooking the Caribbean. There are nice travertine bathrooms with rainhead showers. Each master suite opens out onto a balcony with chairs overlooking the Caribbean, perfect to enjoy breakfast!

THE ISLAND:
The island is super rural. There is nothing fancy on the island. This is the perfect spot for those who have a fancy and fast-paced lifestyle and want something completely different. It is a great spot to recharge!

Becca F.

Stayed: October 2016  Submitted: October 23, 2016   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway

The Breakers/Saint Croix Villa

★★★★★

The Breakers at Cane Bay was absolutely gorgeous! My husband and I went there for our honeymoon in August 2016. As soon as we arrived on the island someone was there to escort us to the villa. The villa was secluded and private. The layout of this home provides individuals with stunning views. It is fully equipped with up-to-date household items. The atmosphere is very warm and welcoming. It made us feel comfortable and right at home. The pool is an additional added benefit. To be honest, we had a difficult time wanting to explore the island, due to the amazing villa. We spent a lot of time in the pool. Saint Croix is a very peaceful island full of welcoming individuals! We will never forget this experience and plan on coming back again in the future!

Anonymous

Stayed: August 2016  Submitted: August 18, 2016   Source: VRBO

Beautiful Home in Great Location!

★★★★★

Gorgeous home and pool.  Cliff top views.  The floor plan is spacious and comfortable.  Amazing views from every room and patios.  Well built new home with the finest details.  Well equipped kitchen with high end appliances and cooking tools. Pool is sparkling clean and ready to jump in.  Within 1 mile each way to 2 great restaurants.  Cane Bay Beach or Carambola Beach are easy to get to.  We loved the location.  20 minutes to Christiansted.  The island itself is less developed than some, but has good restaurants, 2 KMarts (if needed), fast food and lots of dining opportunities.  The people on St. Croix are very friendly and helpful.  There are plenty of activities, but “chillin” at the Breakers at Cane Bay was the best activity of all.

Debbi D.

Stayed: June 2016   Submitted: June 6, 2016   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway

Great House & Great Location

★★★★★

My husband and I had a great 9 days at The Breakers. The house is right on a bluff overlooking the sea, and the 180 degree view is spectacular! We were there in May, and we had a sunrise AND sunset view. We loved sleeping with the upstairs sliding glass door open at night. (There are sliding screen doors outside the sliding glass doors.) The bed was also very comfortable. There is a constant breeze. We loved floating around in the pool while listening to the waves crash below. We also loved sitting on the balconies listening to the waves. We appreciated there being a washer and dryer, since we were there for 9 days. Cane Bay is about a half-mile away. We liked the high wall and solid driveway gate that gave us privacy and security since the Northshore Road is right by the backside of the house. The pool and pool deck area are very private. No one from the road or any other house can see that area. There is a house being built pretty close to the east side of the house, so some of the privacy will be lost on the living room balcony and top bedroom balcony until the tree that’s there grows tall enough to block out that house. Overall, this house is amazing! We will definitely stay here again when we go back to St. Croix!

Courtney H.

Stayed: May 2016   Submitted: June 2, 2016   Source: VRBO

PARADISE EVEN IN THE RAIN

★★★★★

Spent a week in Paradise with great friends at The Breakers. Unfortunately, it rained much of our time on the island, but due to the fast internet and cable television we were able to stay entertained. We had dinner prepared one night onsite by a private chef recommended by the owners. It was an amazing experience sitting on the covered patio over looking the sea while sipping champagne and dining on gourmet delicacies. The Breakers will be our home for all future trips to St Croix.

Michael Hunt

Stayed: May 2016  Submitted: May 23, 2016   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

Best holiday ever-in paradise

★★★★★

We arrived on the beautiful island of St. Croix. A warm and friendly welcome awaited us and we were taken to the Breakers. It was dark when we arrived, and we were tired after the long flight. Everything had been done by the property managers to make our stay memorable. However nothing prepared us for the first impression of the house. It was everything we could have wished for. The living area had the ‘wow’ factor with huge windows leading to a large covered in balcony – couldn’t wait to see the view in the morning,! The kitchen was larger and well appointed – better than any we had experienced in other holiday lets. The bedrooms were one above and one below, suites rather than bedrooms, each with there own private balcony. We had an amazing nights sleep in a very large comfortable bed, and woke to the most beautiful view ever, and to the sound of the waves breaking on the rocks below. Where else could you wake and see the Caribbean stretched out before you. There is s lovely swimming pool, and lounging area looking right over the sea. Cane Bay with it’s lovely sandy beach is very close, easily walkable if you are feeling energetic! The dive shop is there for scuba divers and snorkellers with a cafe alongside. We don’t dive but there is lots to see on the island. The property managers are very knowledgeable and can help with suggestions to suit every interest. We had a very interesting visit to The Cruzan Rum Distillery which we would highly recommend. The history of the island is fascinating and for garden lovers there is a botanic garden. Lots of good restaurants and shops in Christiansted and good supermarkets if you feel like cooking. Lyell recommends a chef who will come to the villa and cook for you. We did this one evening and enjoyed good food and wine on the balcony watching the sunset over the sea. Heavenly!! If you are not feeling energetic what could be better than a lounge in the sun, or shade, with a good book listening to the waves breaking. For the technologically minded there is fast wifi and TV in all main rooms. We had a wonderful holiday in Lyell’s beautiful well appointed Caribbean home, didn’t want to leave, and will definitely be coming back. Thank you Lyell for all the thought that went into making this the best time ever. Worth the long flights.

Jack P.

Stayed: April 2016  Submitted: May 24, 2016   Source: VRBO

A dream come true!

★★★★★

Going to sleep and waking to the sound of the waves lapping against the shoreline every day of our vacation was like a never ending dream! Greeted by Chris and Christie the property managers at the airport, we followed them back to the villa in our rental. They gave a great orientation not only to the villa but to St. Croix. Things to do, things to see, places to eat/drink etc. They were so helpful and were just a phone call away if needed. The Breakers is a modern, new and very comfortable home located on the North Shore of St. Croix. Cane Bay beach is within 30 seconds drive, as is the dive shop, Cane BayDive Shop. We are avid divers and so this location was perfect for us. Within minutes we could be suited up and swimming out and down to the Cane Bay Wall, where an amazing array of wildlife can be found. Then once dives were done, we would relax at one of the several pleasant bars or eateries close by. Eat at Cane Bay is once again open and a rum punch from their bar gives a gorgeous view of the bay. The home is equipped with everything you would need for a vacation, the beds are super comfortable and because the villa is designed with “master up” and guest room” down, there is plenty of space and privacy even with group there. It is beautifully decorated and has high end travertine floors, and teak furniture throughout. Each level has its own balcony overlooking the ocean and I’d spend hours there reading or just staring off into the deep blue distance. Lastly, we splurged on one of the evenings we were at the villa and hired personal Chef Mike Mariano. He prepared a beautiful meal of fresh mahi with coconut sauce, grilled flank steak with caramelized black strap onions, and island “voodoo” chicken. All of this was served with coconut rice, plantains and grilled asparagus. Then for dessert…..his specialty; bananas foster over pecan nut bread pudding! Ugh, we were stuffed. Mike was great to chat with, super friendly, came to the villa and prepared all of the food and even more astoundingly did all of the dishes before he left……..leaving us and our friends out on the balcony watching the sunset, sipping on champagne and not having to worry about any part of the meal. Well worth every penny!! My wife and travel frequently and have been to many places throughout the Caribbean but The Breakers is a home we will most definitely be coming back to!

Lyell H.

Stayed: April 2016  Submitted: May 23, 2016   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway

Beautiful home with a gorgeous view

★★★★★

A beautiful home with a gorgeous view. Peaceful waves crashing below and so close to Cane Bay. We will return as soon as possible.

Josh L.

Stayed: April 2016  Submitted: May 23, 2016   Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway

LUXURIOUS HOME ON THE WATER

★★★★★

Wow, what a view from this beautiful home. Very close to Cane Bay Beach and Cane Bay Dive Shop. Clean and well appointed, with comftorable beds, a relaxing pool, and high-end kitchen. Great expierience with the owners. Cannot wait to stay here again and wake to th sounds of waves crashing below. This is the place to stay in the Caribbean.

Josh

Stayed: April 2016  Submitted: May 23, 2016   Source: VRBO

A JEWEL ON ST. CROIX!

★★★★★

The Breakers is a new and excellent property — very well designed, very well furnished, and very well managed.  It’s rare to find such a combination.   As for the design, the photos tell an accurate story. This is a beautiful home — very suitable for two couples –with great balconies and your own private pool overlooking the Caribbean. Located high above the water, you will hear the wae day and night.   We were in the pool every day and really enjoyed our personal sun beds/lounge chairs.  The kitchen has high-end appliances (including a Viking gas stove :)), and the gas grill outside is super.  The master bedrooms are wonderful, with good quality mattresses, pillows, linens, etc.  Bathrooms are top end too.  The construction quality of this home is excellent… you will walk silently across every room and from level to level.   The property manager (Christie) met us at the airport and guided us across the island to The Breakers; once in the house, she oriented us to St. Croix and made great restaurant recommendations.  This is the best managed property that we’ve stayed at on HomeAway.   This was our first time at St. Croix, and hopefully not our last.  It took us some time to adjust to the pace and style of island life.  By the end of our week, we were quite sad to leave.  St. Croix is not a fancy island, but instead, very casual and relaxed. St. Croix is to provincial to have high-end restaurants, and it is surprisingly difficult to find good seafood on the island, but there are many decent, fun places to eat and relax. We had most of our meals at The Breakers, and couldn’t have enjoyed our time more.   The snorkeling was amazing… you couldn’t ask for more. Sail to Buck Island with Liewellyn on his 37′ trimaran and you will not regret it.  Google Liewellyn St. Croix. Walk down the road to Cane Bay and snorkel there too.   Live life large!  We hope to be back 🙂

Roadman Arlington, VA

Stayed: January 2016   Submitted: January 14, 2016   Source: HomeAway

CANE BAY

★★★★

We loved every minute of our time here.  Great location, warm greetings, prompt help when needed, lovely decor, spacious rooms and decks, perfect pool and parking inside a gate.  Ocean views were awesome, we watched whales for an hour on day one! Husband snorkeled everyday at Cane Bay Beach.  Love the restaurants, easily walkable, 4 to choose, the drive to Rowdy Joe’s or Carambol (we did not eat there).  We preferred Cane Bay Beach to swim and Rowdy Joe’s to eat.  Also loved Eat at Cane Bay and The Waves.  Went to Frederiksted when a ship was in, perfect for shopping!  We hope to return for longer stay.  We have stayed at East End 3 times and also like it there, but this house, this setting, this service…Aaahhh!

Debbi M.

Stayed: March 2015   Submitted: April 18, 2015   Source: HomeAway

EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS

★★★★★

A beautiful property.  The layout is easy and comfortable. Amazing views from every room including the bathrooms! The attention to architectural detail is so pleasing. The place was very clean and had everything one needs. Everything is high end, especially the kitchen; unlike many rentals that go cheap on the appliances and fixtures. No words to describe the location right above the rocks and waves. Really good restaurants within walking distance as well as a beach. All in all a dream vacation.

Sally B.

Stayed: March 2015   Submitted: April 9, 2015  Source: HomeAway

HOLIDAY LUXURY IN THE MOST BEAUTIFUL SETTING

★★★★★

Oh my gosh, this has to be one of the best vacations I have ever had. I stayed for a week in this beautiful home. The villa is fresh, new, modern and clean, furnished very tastefully with the best of everything (including brand new cookware). The three levels each have sliding doors and their own balcony so you have all the privacy you need to daydream and relax while staring out across the incredible blue stretch of ocean. At night, after gazing at the night sky, leave the doors open and you can fall asleep listening to the waves break. If you visit St. Croix for scuba diving or snorkeling The Breakers villa is very close to the famous Cane Bay – it’s just a short walk away. I snorkeled and saw many beautiful tropical fish and also some turtles – just amazing. The villa also has a pool which is extra-luxurious to come home to from the beach and cool down with a relaxing swim. There are some good places to eat nearby, we liked Eat at Cane Bay, but really the villa is the perfect home away from home to relax and make your own meals if you prefer (shopping at The Art Farm and the weekly Farmers Market). It was very hard to leave this perfect sanctuary and I am determined to visit again next year. I highly recommend The Breakers.

Anonymous

Stayed: January 2015   Submitted: February 6, 2015   Source: HomeAway

BEST SUNSET VIEW ON ST. CROIX, 5 STAR, PRIVATE

★★★★★

After coming to the Caribbean 25 years, we have finally found the place we will return to each year, owners permitting. My wife and I spent 10 days here. The entire experience was sublime. Perched on a cliff over the ocean, if you don’t like sitting on a balcony watching the sunset each night over the mountains of the North Shore which ring the ocean, all the way to Hams’ Bluff, swilling some good wine, or local rum, don’t come here. Just a short walk from Cane Bay and The Waves Restaurant, a fabulous place with tables just above the pounding waves. I first came to St. Croix courtesy of the US Navy on a nuclear submarine in 1978. Fell in love with St. Croix, but kept looking throughout the Caribbean with our growing family the past 25 years. Now, with an empty nest, we visit here and the place. Took long enough. If you stay here, go to Fredricksted Pier and jump off into the ocean. Ignore the signs, no one cares when the pier is empty. You can dive a few minutes north from the villa to Carambola, stop at the gate, tell the guard you’d like to visit for lunch and a dip into the water, and then enjoy one of, if not the best, beach on the island. I bodysurfed there last week with my grandson. Perfect waves. Best spa and massage we’ve had, at Renuatum Spa, in Christiansted, the only eco friendly spa in the Caribbean. Lots of yoga if you’re into it. They will also come to the villa to do couples or individual massages on the balcony over the ocean. The villa is beautiful, efficient, totally private, and brand new. Really, it is the best location on the island. Our daughter, husband, and kids live here, we know the island well. Love the fridge too. Never need any a/c, winds and fan kept it just right. Cane Bay Beach is happening, minutes away, and there also is a scuba and snorkeling center there. A few minutes drive north on Shore Rd is Rowdy Joes, a great place to eat and drink. Try the fish tacos, to die for. The kids loved the home made ice cream. What can I say…”book em Dano,” for us next year. If you visit here, you will understand what I’m describing.

Anonymous

Stayed: January 2015   Submitted: February 1, 2015   Source: HomeAway

TONI B

★★★★★

I stayed for a beautiful week in this spectacular home. Each night I lay in bed, with the sliding doors open, just listening to the waves break on the cliff below. Just beautiful. This house is so different than some of the others I saw. Completely modern and clean and in the best location. Beaches are a short walk away, and the privacy is perfect. The pool overlooks the ocean and you can spend an entire day just sun bathing and watching the beautiful ocean. I give this home a 5+ rating and cannot wait to go back and visit again. All three floors have lovely decks over the water and the trade winds make the house cool all the time. Air conditioning available but we did not need to turn it on once. Pure heaven! Thank you for sharing your lovely home!

Stayed: October 2014          Submitted: November 30, 2014   Source: VRBO

Manager Response: We try and do everything in our power to make every stay a perfect one and are always thrilled to hear that guests enjoy our home as much as we do!

INCREDIBLE STAY!

★★★★★

The Breakers is the perfect vacation rental. The most stunning views from every room…even the shower. The layout of the house is perfect for 2 couples as the bedrooms are separated by the living room & kitchen. The owners thought of everything you could need. The kitchen is a cooks dream. All Viking appliances and every kitchen gadget you need. We ate on the patio overlooking the ocean every night. Just down the road is Cane Bay which is a beautiful beach where the locals seem to hang out. Great snorkeling and palm trees for shade while watching the sunset. Eat @ Cane Bay is great and the Sunday Reggae Brunch is not to be missed. Just up from there is Off The Wall. A great little beach bar with delicious sandwiches. This side of the island is quiet and the sunsets from the house are incredible. We saw whales almost every day swimming just up from the house. We dove with Cane Bay Dive Shop and everyone was wonderful. The salt river dive site was my favorite. The tour of Cruzan Rum is also not to be missed! As I type this, I am sitting on the porch listening to the waves crash below us. It’s so hard  to leave this wonderful island and incredible house. Thank you Christie for all your help in booking the villa and all your tips for making our vacation great.

Samantha & Mike

Stayed: March 2014  Submitted: March 19, 2014   Source: HomeAway

GREAT VACATION IN A FANTASTIC HOUSE

★★★★★

We spent a fantastic vacation in this beautiful house. The view from the house is breathtaking from both the living room, bedroom and bathroom, not to mention from the swimming pool. Everything in the house is brand new, the furnishing is very tasteful and the kitchen has everything your could wish for in a holiday house. The house if not very far away from the shops and restaurants in Christiansted. A few minutes’ walk down the road, there’s a very good restaurant and the beach at Cane Bay is lovely and very goo for swimming and snorkeling. We can definitely recommend spending a vacation in this house and on St. Croix.

Lars A.

Stayed: February 2014  Submitted: March 11, 2014   Source: VRBO

BEAUTIFUL HOME IN GREAT LOCATION!

★★★★★

This beautiful home is brand new and I appreciated the fact that it was built, furnished and equipped with high quality items…makes it feel like your home, not a rental. The house is built on a medium waterfront bank, and the waves crash constantly against the rocks below. The trade winds are also constant, so that air conditioning was not required (but available), and there were no bugs (and that includes mosquitos). Local beach bars and eateries were a pleasant stroll down the street, as was the dive shop for the adventuresome who wanted to dive the wall. The area was very safe. I really can’t speak highly enough about the rental, its location, and the property managers, and I hope to return soon.

Nancy C.

Stayed: February 2014   Submitted: March 25, 2014   Source: VRBO

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search